One Thing at a Time

Image

 

Have you ever looked at your work schedule for the week and been overwhelmed?

The amount of work that you have to get done can sometimes be a daunting task to take on.

That feeling is all too familiar to me.

However, out of desperation to keep my sanity, I started doing something to help with this without even realizing it.

Instead of thinking about what all I have to do for the week, I just focus on what I have to get done that day. Even more specific, I only work on one thing at a time.

Never have I tried this before to the extent I am now, and it really makes me way less stressed.

I don’t even pay attention to what I need to get done the rest of the week, or the rest of the day. I throw all of my time and attention into the task at hand, and then when that’s done, I move on to the next one. It’s great! Not only do I get things done a lot easier without procrastinating because I’m too stressed to actually start anything, I enjoy what I’m doing more. Not only that, but since all of my attention and focus is on the task at hand, I also do a better job on them.

The way that I go about doing this is by making a list. I plan out what all I need to get done that week, and each day. This is subject to change of course. However, every day after I’m done working, I make a list for the next day and just cross things off as I go. I also give myself a general time frame of how long it will take to do each task. This is based on how long it has taken me to do the task, or similar tasks, in the past. This helps keep me on track as well.

I’m not sure why I started doing this. It wasn’t intentional. I’m to the point where if I try to think of all the things I have to do, I automatically just stop thinking about them. It’s actually kind of nice!

So, if you find yourself being stressed by a huge workload, don’t be! Stop for a minute; take a breather. Then, write down all of the things that you have to do for the day, and just do them one by one.

I’m sure there are other methods, but this is the one that I have come up with. I would love to hear about any others 🙂

Just trying to share my experiences so maybe someone can get something out of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

